NYSCHP REF Award Recipients (2001-2010)

2001

Dr. Roy Guharoy

Seymour and Elizabeth Katz Award: *Non-punitive Medication Error Reporting Systems*

2002

Eric Hopson and Nancy Waite

Demonstration Project Grant: Refining a Pharmacy-Managed Adult Pnuemococcal Vaccination Model

2003

Dr. Jeanne Marraffa

Pfizer Award: TheSsignificance of CYP 2D6 Inhibition by Propoxyphene

Dr. Patrick Smith

UpJohn Award: Effect of St. John's Wort on the Pharmacokinetics of Imatinib in Health Volunteers

Dr. Bishoy Luka

Merck Award: Cost-Effectiveness of Fomepizole Versus Ethanol in the Management of Acute Ethylene Glycol Toxicity

Dr. Stephanie Seyse

Geriatric Award: Assessment of Digoxin Prescribing for Patient Over 75 Years of Age

Dr. Adrienne Smith-McGough

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: The Effect of Selected Cytochrome P450 Inhibitors on the Effectiveness of Tamoxifen in patients with Estrogen Receptor Positive Breast Cancer

2004

Dr. Danielle Blais

Pfizer Award: Comparison of Nursing Assessment of Sedation in Bispectral Analysis in ICU Patients, A Pilot Study

Dr. Lisa Charneski

Glaxo Research Award: Penicillin Allergy May Be Hazardous to Your Health:

Implementation of an Evidence Based Detection Process of True Allergy in a Tertiary Care Teaching Hospital

Marvin Knoeck, Jr

Merck Award: Single Dose Rasburicase Plus Oral Allopurinol: An Effective Alternative in the Management of Tumor Lysis Syndrome

Dr. Robert DiCenzo

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: Optimal Breast Cancer Adjuvant Chemotherapy Dosing in Obese and Overweight Women

2005

Dr. Roy Guharoy

Lederle Research Award: Prevalence and Cost Savings of Therapeutic Interchange Among US Hospitals

Glaxo Research Award: National Surgical Infection Prevention Guideline: Practice Analysis and Identification of Areas for Improvement in a Tertiary Care Teaching Hospital

UpJohn Award: A Comparison of Patient Medication Knowledge with and without Pharmacists Discharge Consultations

Karl Williams

Pfizer Award: CDTM Boot Camp

Royston Browne

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: A Randomized, Open Label Study for Comparing the efficacy of Gelchair® versus Mucositis Cocktail in Reducing chemotherapy Induced oral Mucositis Pain

2006

Dr Roy Guharoy

Clinical Pharmacy Services Award: Impact of Adverse Drug Reaction Events (ADRE's) on Hospital Readmission

Seymour & Elizabeth Katz Award: Benchmarking Impact of Multidisciplinary Team Initiated Computerized Physician Order Entry System on System Efficiency, Cost Containment and Improved Patient Outcome

Dr. Adrienne Smith-McGough

Medication Use Evaluation Award: Factor VIIa and Development of Institutional Prescribing Guidelines at a University Hospital

Dr. John Noviasky

Infectious Disease Research Award: Onychomycosis Treatment Using Topcial Menthol and Camphor (Aka Vick's Vapor Rub) or Terbinafine Cream: A Perspective Study

2007

Dr Roy Guharoy

Infectious Disease Pharmacy Research Award: Beta-Lactam Allergy-A Myth? A Multi-disciplinary Team Initiated Prospective Intervention Program in Addressing the Challenge

Dr. Adrienne Smith-McGough

Clinical Pharmacy Services Award: *Project title, "Determining the Optimal Dose of Warfarin in Patients with Thyroid Disorders*

NYSCHP Southern Tier Chapter

Demonstration Project Grant: Leadership Development and Membership Recruitment

Dr. Cindy Ippoliti

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: Study to Evaluate the Efficacy of Palfermin in HighRisk Autologous Stem Cell Transplantation Recipients

2008

Dr. Elizabeth Phillips

The Medication Use Evaluation Research Award: Evaluation of a Computerized Physician Order Entry (CPOE) Scheme for Deep Vein Thrombosis (DV) Prevention

Dr. John Noviasky

The Geriatric Pharmacy Research Award: Impact of a Geriatric Team on the Outcomes of the Hospitalized Elderly Patient

Dr. Reetu Gupta

The Clinical Pharmacy Award: Correlation Between MDRD4 or Cockcrofy-Gault Equation and Gentamicin Clearance

NYSCHP 50th Anniversary

Demonstration Grant: Understanding the Millennial Mind

Dr. Jeffrey Steele

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: Rasburicase, a recombinant urate oxidase, n reduction of uric acid and prevention of acute renal failure associated with tumor lysis syndrome

2009

Dr. Kelly Jacobs

The Pediatric Research Award: Characterization of Sedation Practices in Pediatric Intensive Care Units

Dr. Brianne Hefty

The Geratric Pharmacy Research Award: Correlation of Gentamicin Clearance with Variations of the Cockcroft-Gualt Equation and Modification of Diet in Renal Disease Equation for the Purpose of Characterizing Renal Function in Older Adults

Dr. Ester Kim

The Clinical Pharmacy Award: *Utilization of Proton Pump Inhibitors at a Tertiary Care Teaching Institution: Consequences of Over-Prescribing*

Dr Alice Ceacareanu

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: *Diabetes Pharmacology in Breast Cancer: Quo Vadis?*

2010

Dr Alice Ceacareanu

The Clinical Pharmacy Award: Evaluating the prognostic value of adiponectin levels in diabetics with breast cancer - Role of insulin sensitizers

Dr Ashley Wieldon-Woodruff

The Infectious Disease Pharmacy Research Award: Development of a vancomycin dosing nomogram to target trough levels of 15-20 mg/L in a tertiary care teaching hospital

Dr Amber Ng

Amgen NYSCHP REF Oncology Leadership Award: Evaluation of safety and efficacy of collapsed-dose palifermin (Kepivance®) for oral mucositis prophylaxis in patients undergoing hematopoietic stem cell transplantation at The Mount Sinai Medical Center (MSMC)